Posted by: Kevin | September 12, 2006

Updated: What I’ve Been Missing

I confess, I never took Keith Olbermann seriously as a “regular” news guy.  I never took the time to watch “Countdown with Keith Olbermann” or read his website.  To me, he’s always been the former Sportscenter anchor and that’s it.  After reading this post at Dire Portents.  I must admit that I was completely wrong.  Olbermann has captured, better than any other writter in the news or the blogs, the frustration and anger I’m feeling now.  I’m concerned for where this country is headed and I’m disappointed at what we’ve failed to accomplish in the last five years.  It’s comforting to know that I’m not alone.

Update:  An intelligent commentor on Sidways Mencken points out a giant flaw in Olbermann’s analogy.  She’s right, it’s lazy journalism by Olbermann to essentially blame Bush for the slow pace of re-construction at ground zero.  I don’t share her anger however.  Olbermann’s comments still capture my own anger and frustration in general even if the specifics are a little dubious. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

