Posted by: Kevin | December 27, 2006

Does This Make Me a Shameless Fanboy?

harry-potter-7.JPG
Book 7 has a Title!

I admit it, I’m eagerly looking forward to the 7th Harry Potter Book.  JK Rowling’s announcement of the title, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, posted on her website on Dec 21st, is only fueling that.  Children’s literature of no, the books have been excellent and thoroughly enjoyable.  It will be a shame to see this series end. 

There was a time, 5 – 6 years ago, when it was very good to be a fan of SciFi/Fantasy.  Between the Lord of the Ring movies, Harry Potter Movies/Books and Star Wars (ugh, disappointment), there was always some exciting new release on the horizon.  It was like a Golden Age for Geekdom. 

Now, the Lord of the Rings has come and gone, leaving good memories and adding to my DVD collection.  Star Wars has been played out, dragged through the muck and now it’s corpse is yielding a steady stream on awful novels.  All we have left is Harry Potter.  Once movie 5 and book 7 are released in the summer, we will be entering a vast desert of SciFi/Fantasy quality.  Oh well, at least I’ll have computer games to get my escapism fix.

Photo taken from Mugglenet.com

This post has been edited for spelling (as usual)

Responses

  1. I can only assume that you are unaware of the fantastic new movie “Eragon” release–the greatest film since “Dungeons & Dragons”–and so erred in not including it in your list. You are forgiven, just rush out a buy 10 tickets or so, so the studio can get a franchise going.

  2. I got the book for Christmas actually and I’m reading it right now. It’s not bad and I’m enjoying it, but it’s not “holy shit! I have to go see the movie right now!” either. It stands out only when compared to the other SciFi/Fantasy releases on currently on the landscape.

  3. Not that anyone cares, but I have to clarify my views on “Eragon” now that I’m just about done with the book.

    As the book progresses, it’s flaws (reliance on cliches, contrived plot devices, inconsistencies) become more and more apparent. It has been a difficult slog through the second half of this book. I wouldn’t recomend it and I don’t understand the hype. I have a hard time seeing how the movie could be any better.

  4. I’m not surprised and commend you for actually finishing the book. I read a bit of it at a book store to see if I would like it and had to reshelve it in disappear when the Gandalf stand-in came into the story.

    By all accounts the movie sucks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

