Posted by: Kevin | March 29, 2007

I Don’t Like Either of These Guys

But I love watching them fight.  Red Sox Pitcher Curt Schilling and Boston Globe Columnist Dan Shaughnessy have started a war of words of Curt Schilling’s new blog 38pitches.com.  This is kind of like watching Godzilla fight Mothra.  In that I’m less concerned with who wins than I am with seeing a good battle.

That said, I admit to having some sympathy for Curt Schilling here.  He’s an attention seeking blowhard and I’m not a fan of his political views but his intentions here seem pretty legit.  He put together his blog in order to highlight his charitable causes and pimp his new gaming studio.  In return, he’s answering fan questions and not just the easy ones.  This seems like a fair trade.

Shaughnessy’s response is to write a completely hackerific column attempting to lampoon the blog.  He relies on such worn out clichés as “bloggers live in their mom’s basement” in his lame attempt at humor. 

Lapdog38: Hey Curt. This blog is awesome. I mean, I can’t believe it’s really you. I’m nervous just typing, knowing you are there on the other end. Let me tell you a little about myself. I am 38 years old (pretty cool, huh, 38?) and I have your jersey in XXL (both home and away versions). I’m living at home, in the basement, rent free, and I’ve got cable and plasma TV. Domino’s delivers. I guess you could say I’m living the dream. Anyway, I was wondering if you could tell us who’s going to be on the final 25-man roster for the Sox this year?

Sadly, this is representative of Shaughnessy’s work.  He’s a hack.  He gave the world the “Curse of the Bambino” then rode that for all it was worth.  He has failed to have an original thought since.  Now his undeserved position as the middleman between the players and the fans is being threatened, something Schilling points out in his excellent response.

The only response I have to the Curly Haired Boyfriend is this.
“First they ignore you, then they mock you, then they fight you, then you win”
Putting his inherent ‘toolness’ on display for all the world to see did far more than I could ever hope to do by trying to explain what a dopel he is.

Shaughnessy (along with Ron Borges) represents everything that is wrong with sports reporting in Boston.  The negativity, the stale whit, the poorly thought out columns and the reliance on cliché, he’s got it all.  Schilling might be a shameless self promoter, but he at least has the good grace to do his real job well.  So have at it guys, just don’t drag anyone else on the Red Sox into this. 

Update:  I should add that FireJoeMorgan wrote about this earlier this week.  Only their posts were much funnier.  Also, until this came up I never new what CHB stood for despite reading SoSH for over a year.  “Curly Haired Boyfriend”, thank you Carl Everett.

Leave a Reply

Categories

