Posted by: Kevin | May 4, 2007

Rescued from the Obscurity of My Never Listened to CD’s

It’s been an ongoing project of my wife and I to sell off all of the crap we don’t use any more.  It’s been pretty successful too.  Between eBay and Half.com, we’ve made a couple hundred dollars selling books, CDs and video games.  One side benefit in selling the CD’s has been rediscovering good songs on otherwise shitty CDs.

Without further ado here are some of my favorites, rescued from obscurity:

From the “Last Action Hero” Soundtrack
Alice in Chains – “A Little Bitter
Cypress Hill – “Cock the Hammer
That’s right!  I actually paid for this album.  I’m not ashamed either…um…actually…yah, I’m ashamed.

From “The Crow” Soundtrack
Nine Inch Nails – “Dead Souls
My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult – “After the Flesh
“After the Flesh” isn’t much of a song actually, but that band name is beyond reproach.  As a closet metal head, I still think this album is all right, especially for a movie soundtrack.

From “The Night” by Morphine,
The Title track
I pretty much wore out Morphine’s first two albums but this one didn’t do it for me.  I think the title track does an excellent job of creating a mood.  I’d listen to it more often if that mood wasn’t “mild depression”.

From “Aurora Gory Alice” by Letters to Cleo
Here and Now
This song was a bit of a one hit wonder.  It got major radio play and was featured on Melrose Place, after which Letters to Cleo returned to obscurity.  It turns out that former lead singer Kay Hanley is a fan of my beloved New England Patriots.  They are currently undefeated when she sings the national anthem (8-0).

From “The Best of 1980 – 1990” by U2
Silver and Gold
It’s hard to call anything by U2 obscure but let’s face it.  Disk 2 of this set, the Best of the B-Sides, included a lot of songs that were b-sides for a very good reason, they suck.  Thanks to my iPOD, I can now forget the rest of the b-sides and put this keeper on my music list.  Am I bugging you?

From “Loser” the single by Beck
Loser
This one also hardly qualifies as obscure but I had forgotten that I own this gem.  Not only does it have “Loser”, an obvious keeper, it has 4 other songs that vary from good to bizarre.

From “Astro-Creep:  2000” by White Zombie
Blood, Milk and Sky
It’s hard for me to describe the atmosphere this song creates.  Suffice to say that if evil and decay were to take a physical form, it should seriously consider “Blood, Milk and Sky” as its theme song.

That’s just a sampling of course.  It’s been a pretty amusing process, looking back at my music tastes.  For instance back when I started college, it was practically illegal to have a CD collection that didn’t include some Jimi Hendrix and The Doors.  Naturally, I had greatest hits compilations from both artists.  Outside of “All Along the Watchtower”, I can’t listen to a single song on those albums now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

