Posted by: Kevin | May 24, 2007

8 Random Things

I got tagged by Natalia with the challenge to describe 8 random things about myself.  Since I’m just as self absorbed as the next guy, why the heck not.  Here goes, in no particular order.

• I don’t believe in wishing away the days or investing any energy in looking ahead to something.  My kids frequently test that philosophy in every way.

• If there is ever to be found proof of a benevolent deity, it will be found in port wine.

• I got really sick my sophomore year of college and went home without telling any of my friends for a couple of weeks.  My roommates decided to spread the rumor that I was dead.  People knew I had been sick, so it was believed.  That kind of sucked, but my roommates did write a (rather terrible) song about the whole experience.

• I played ice hockey regularly until about four years ago.  I miss the simple joy of spotting someone carrying the puck with their head down, lowering my shoulder and just leveling them.

• Sometimes I just like popping in a movie late at night and falling asleep on the couch.  Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, in Mandarin with English subtitles, is the best movie for this in my opinion.  The pacing and the foreign language helps lull me to sleep and when it doesn’t work, I end up watching a great movie.

• I saw this on a children’s music show I was watching with my kids.  I liked.

• I think this is pretty cool.  I was looking at Sitemeter recently and found that 6 continents were represented in my last 100 visitors.  WTF Antarctica!!  Get on board here.

the-globe.jpg

• Today’s my birthday, I’m 32.  Not sure how I feel about it.

I think I’m supposed to tag others so I’m going to take this over to MySpace and tag some people there.

Responses

  1. A hit from Antarctica? How cool is that?? (No pun intended.)

  2. No love from Antarctica yet actually. I don’t think there are too many ISP’s setting up shop down there though so for all I know, I could have an extensive readership logging on from Antartica via Satelite.

  3. Happy birthday (wished or no)! As a fellow ex-hockey player, by the way, I sympathize with your plight (though at 5’8, 145 lbs, I tended to be guy who got leveled, rather than the other way around).


Leave a Reply

Categories

