Posted by: Kevin | March 6, 2009

Just Fucking Wrong

That’s about all I have to say about this story:

The Catholic Church has excommunicated the mother of a nine-year-old girl who had an abortion after being raped by her stepfather.

They also excommunicated the doctors who performed the abortion.  This little girl was raped.  She was pregnant with twins as a result.  She’s nine years old and weighs eighty pounds.  Asking her to carry the pregnancy to term is not only a moral outrage, it’s medically impossible and puts her life at tremendous risk. 

So for anyone keeping track at home, you can rape alter boys without being excommunicated.  You can deny the holocaust without being excommunicated.  But allow a 9 year old rape victim, who almost certainly couldn’t carry a twin pregnancy to term, to get an abortion, now that’s bad. 

I grew up Catholic and I still allow myself to get dragged to Catholic mass from time to time, but I don’t think I can allow that anymore.  These actions in Brazil are vile and hateful and I’d rather not associate myself or my family with them.

Responses

  1. Yes, it is just fucking wrong. I won’t allow myself to be dragged to Mass anymore due to this.

  2. um, that is horrible.


Leave a Reply

Categories

