Posted by: Kevin | March 10, 2009

I Get Interviewed

Cause I’m famous and all. 

Natalia Antonova sent me the following interview questions as part of an interview meme going round the web.  Naturally, I couldn’t resist the opportunity to talk about myself.
 
1. Explain the meaning of your WordPress avatar.

My WordPress avatar is a glass of Port Wine.  For those unfamiliar, port wine is wine fortified with brandy and is made in the Douro Valley region of Northern Portugal.  It is named for the town of Porto at the mouth of the Douro River.  Its meaning is very simple.  I really enjoy port wine.  While I don’t define myself as Port wine, wine appreciation and drinking is something I enjoy and something that my wife and I share.  Kind of like a relationship building activity that gets you buzzed.  Also, I didn’t feel like using a picture of myself.

2. You like beer, it would seem. 😉 Discuss your favorite kinds of beer.

Mmmm beer.  It’s hard to choose just one.  I’ve been a bit of a beer snob for a long time and I’ve tried many different kinds of beer.  So I’m going to give you three favorites based on their availability and cost here in the states. 

In the hard to find and expensive category, there is Maredsous.  I’ve actually been to the abbey in Belgium for an amazing lunch.  It consisted of fresh grainy bread, cheese and a glass of Maredsous Dubbel 8.  That lunch remains one of the highlights of my life so far.  It’s hard for me to talk intelligently about the beer though since it’s been awhile since I’ve had any. 

In the somewhat easier to find and more reasonably priced category there is Hoegaarden, which also hails from Belgium.  The village of Hoegaarden has been brewing their white beer since the middle ages.  It’s got a strong hint of lemon and orange in both the smell and taste.  Hoegaarden makes for a great summer beer.  One danger of this beer is that it goes down really easy but if you make the mistake of pounding it, you’ll regret it.

Last but not least is my everyday beverage of choice, Sam Adams Larger.  It’s delicious, it’s easy to find and it’s usually not too expensive.  It’s good beer, what else need be said.

3. What’s your idea of the perfect party (I don’t mean political party)?

Since having kids, I’ve grown very fond of hosting parties.  I don’t have to worry about my kids trashing someone else’s house.  I don’t have to worry about lining up and then paying a babysitter.  Plus, the kids have proven time and again that they can sleep through almost anything.

So the perfect party happens at my house.  Lots of friends show up with interesting beverages, interesting food and interesting things to talk about.  Everyone takes advantage of the labeled buckets to dispose of cans, bottles and trash, so I don’t have a huge clean-up in the morning.  No one gets so drunk that they make a complete spectacle of themselves or piss of the neighbors or otherwise act like a jerk (quietly passing out in a corner on the other hand is completely acceptable).  No one pukes or pees someplace where they shouldn’t.  Last, but not least, everyone leaves while my wife and I still have enough energy to enjoy some, ahem, alone time before passing out ourselves. 

The cool thing is that we’ve come pretty close to this ideal a couple of times already.

4. Let’s assume that you are writing what will surely be the Great American Novel. What does the subject matter involve?

I’ve been toying with an idea for while now that involves a religious revival in the US that ultimately has a very damaging impact on society.  I’m drawing inspiration from the religious revivals that have happened previously in the US and current trend of non-affiliated Christianity gaining popularity as mainstream denominations decline.  Not sure what to do with the topic yet though.

5. You’ve just gotten inside a Time Machine. Pick a time and place to explore, and talk about your motivation for choosing this specific time and this specific place as well, please. 🙂

I can’t think of a time and place where our understanding of the universe was more radically advanced than 1905 in the patent office of Berne, Switzerland by Albert Einstein.  To be there and be a passive part of those discussions and to watch him work through his theories would be my choice.

Updated:  Forgot to add that if you’d like to participate (i.e. answer interview questions from yours truly) then feel free to speak up in the comments.  Not that I have much of a regular readership, but this meme was fun so I don’t mind keeping it going.

Responses

  1. Yay! Thank you so much! These are rather awesome. Hopefully the meme will live long and prosper, it’s such a joy.

  2. Thanks Natalia, and thanks for sending the questions.

  3. Love those Belgium beers. Huge fan of the Trappist breweries, particularly Westmalle.

  4. Engaging internet site. i will definitely visit soon:D


Leave a Reply

Categories

