Posted by: Kevin | September 1, 2009

Yep, This is My State

Kristin Maguire resigned as Chairwoman of the South Carolina Board of Education yesterday, citing family reasons for her sudden decision.  I’ve written critically about her in the past.  I didn’t like the idea that someone who clearly disagreed with the Scientific Method could have an impact on the education of children. 

Given all that, and despite my long held belief that vocal social conservatives always have a dark side.  I don’t know what to make of this, from FITSNews.com:

Kristin Maguire, an Upstate evangelical and one of South Carolina’s most respected social conservatives, has been one of the governor’s closest education policy advisors for years.  She’s also Sanford’s appointment to the S.C. Board of Education, which last year elected her its Chairwoman.

What else is she?

The prolific author of hardcore erotic fiction on the Internet, according to documents provided to the governor’s office earlier this summer and later obtained by FITS…

…FITS was able to use conversations in various Internet chat rooms, however, to link at least two “erotic stories” to Maguire’s alleged pen name, “Bridget Keeney.”

Should I be satisfied that someone who threatened the education of my children will now be seeking another line of work?  Should I laugh at yet another possible scandal involving sex affecting the Governor’s office?  I don’t know. 

For the record, I don’t see this as much of a scandal, outside of the usual hypocrisy angle (abstinence only education indeed).  There’s lots of slash fiction out there and based on the small sampling I’ve seen, most of it is horribly written crap.  As long as it’s not illegal though, it shouldn’t be something to resign over.

That said, I will admit to an evil desire to review her work for spelling, grammar and punctuation and to send it back to her for any corrections.  She is an educator after all.

adding this for the hell of it
doublefacepalmkzm
because it accurately captures my feelings on South Carolina politics.

Leave a Reply

Categories

